Goodbyes are never easy

We’ve been saying goodbye to each other in one way or another for almost two years now, most of these are the classic airport scenes I talked about in my post Cliché goodbyes but however we say goodbye, I’m sorry to say, it never gets any easier.  This year alone we have had 3 of these scenes, with a fourth on the horizon this week, I’ll be honest, I only managed to not cry on one of those occasions.

Oh I tell myself this time I won’t cry, besides, I hate crying, it hurts my eyes, makes my nose all snotty and messes up my make-up! but then just as we part he always says something really nice that triggers it! and BOOM! When I cry, I don’t just cry, I CRY, my eyes literally flood – I don’t know whether it is because I keep myself so well hydrated or what but jeez . . it doesn’t stop! 

So every time . . .On the ship in Barbados in January, at Gatwick airport in August, Mumbai Airport in October, again Gatwick Airport this week  – the big goodbye! It’s horrible, because Babu calls it my big weapons, my big guns – he hates it if I cry, it literally breaks his heart, so this Thursday, when he is once again connecting in London on his flight to the Caribbean, I am going to try my very, very, best not to cry!

How quickly time passes, and again I have not really appreciated the fact that we have been able to communicate with each other any time we please for the last 3 months, and now it’ll go back to 2-3 times a week for 10mins here and there if we are lucky. I am feeling really sad about it, I know it will be fine, we’ve done it before and can do it again, but certainly life can be testing! This time, we don’t know when we will see each other again – I hope to visit him in the Caribbean but that is entirely dependant on if he can get me a concession – I just can’t afford to go otherwise, otherwise it will be that very distant month called April.

The melancholy will pass, the Christmas season is ramping up, meaning there will be social events to keep me occupied, and work is still busy for me, I will dive into that no doubt. Also all the extra time will give me more time to get blogging a bit more frequently as well – I still have so much to share about my week in India!

I guess what this post is about really, is that if you are embarking on a long-distance relationship, and are unsure about how you will cope, the reality is that it never becomes easy, all you can do is make the most of the time you do have. I guess the biggest benefit is that, with the right balance of together and apart (as right as it can be long distance) it helps you to realise whether or not a person is truly worth the hassle and heartache the situation brings – and I can honestly say Babu is worth it.  Our relationship isn’t perfect, but we are very happy, and I know for sure that as long as that smile of his melts my heart, that we will carry on striving in the situation we have been given.

A mushy post . . sorry guys . . . ❤

 

19 responses to “Goodbyes are never easy

  • Tj Milimo

    Hang in there and remember that even though you keep having to say goodbye that it still means you got to see each other 🙂

  • Coffee Drinkers Make Better Lovers

    Being in a LDR myself, I truly understand how you feel. Last year, I was hit by an immense sense of loneliness in the midst of a Christmas party. I missed her. Missing someone isn’t about how long it has been since you’ve seen them or the amount of time since you’ve talked. It’s about that very moment when you find yourself doing something and wishing they were right there by your side.

  • Mani Dhillon

    They are as you say quite difficult to say “goodbyes”.
    Well I wish you enjoyed your sty with him and have lots of good time. Hey guess what I think I can get 10 days from my busy schedule and meet my love around their domestic new year. Though I should tell you this.

  • guenbt

    It is never easy. And it isn’t getting easier. I get to see him once a year, for only 2 weeks. It is difficult but we are happy. All will be worth it. So, hang in there! 🙂

    • ria

      Wow. Big respect to you, I’m not sure I could do that. But then again I suppose I have the two extremes of situation – I’m either with him or were virtually in no contact at all (like now) where we get to speak once or twice a week for 5mins. I’m guessing you have skype or something which can make things much easier! Babu FINALLY got a phone with a front camera a couple of weeks back so when he can catch some wifi we can skype and that makes the biggest difference! It’s lovely to see him, even If it is on a screen

Leave a Reply

